Our Home

We live in a comfortable home in a quiet neighborhood. There are other families with kids nearby, and we have a nice roomy back yard for games and running around. In the winter, our house is usually covered in snow, but in the summer we like to grill on our back patio and spend time outside in the garden. We also live just down the street from a large park, where we often take the dog for walks or play at the playground with our son. The local public library is within walking distance, too, and we go there frequently to look at books and play in the kids’ area. There’s also coffee shops and an ice cream place that we like to walk to for dessert in the summer.

We have a dog, Daphne, and a cat, Zephyr. We also have several pet turtles, some of which Chris has had for about twenty years now! A couple years ago, one of them laid eggs and we hatched two baby turtles. Our son enjoys interacting with all of the animals and will be eager to teach his new sibling all about them.

In the summer we spend a lot of time gardening and tending to our potted fig trees. When we’re not outside, we’re usually inside cooking (our favorite: pizza). Chris’s dad has worked as a baker for about 40 years, so baking is a big family tradition for us, and we’re excited to pass it on to another generation.

Travel

When we get a chance to travel, we like to do things outdoors like canoeing and hiking, but we also visit the usual tourist spots sometimes. Obviously we haven’t been able to travel as much lately with a young child, but we still like to visit local sites and are looking forward to family vacations later on when the kid(s) are older.